The entire “Stargate” franchise includes the inaugural movie, followed by three TV shows, two more TV movies, and then two additional TV shows. “Stargate” fans — sometimes called Gaters — know all about the various shows and could likely explain the very complex lore involved in them. Outsiders, meanwhile, may be surprised to learn just how much “Stargate” media there is in the world. It’s best, then, to watch the franchise in its release order, which is complicated as — like “Star Trek” in the 1990s — some of the installments overlap. With that being said, here is our recommended approach:

  • “Stargate” (1994)
  • “Stargate SG-1” (seasons 1 through 5, and season 6 through episode “Prometheus”)
  • “Stargate: Infinity” (September 24, 2002 — March 23, 2003)
  • “Stargate SG-1” (the rest of season 6 and season 7, which ended March 19, 2004)
  • “Stargate: Atlantis” (July 16, 2004 — January 9, 2009) 
  • “Stargate SG-1” (seasons 8, 9, and 10, which ended on August 26, 2007)
  • “Stargate: The Ark of Truth” (March 11, 2008) — a spinoff of “SG-1” that aired during season 5 of “Atlantis”
  • “Stargate: Continuum” (July 29, 2008) — a spinoff of “SG-1” that aired during season 5 of “Atlantis” 
  • “Stargate Universe” (October 2, 2009 — May 9, 2011)
  • “Stargate Origins” (February 15, 2018 — March 8, 2018)

Note that “Stargate: Infinity” is an animated series that some Gaters don’t consider canonical. “Stargate SG-1” and “Stargate: Atlantis” both involve military grunts passing through Stargates to visit distant alien worlds, while “Stargate Universe” is more of a space opera set on board a distant Earth spacecraft. “Universe” lasted for two seasons on TV but ultimately produced 34 “webisodes,” which serve as a miniature, concurrent spinoff of their own.

“Stargate Origins,” meanwhile, is a prequel miniseries that’s set in 1939 and composed of 10 episodes (each of which is 10 minutes long).

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *