The 2024 Rock and Roll Hall of Fame inductees were announced tonight on American Idol by Ryan Seacrest and 2022 inductee Lionel Richie.

A Tribe Called Quest, Cher, Foreigner, Dave Matthews Band, Kool & the Gang, Mary J. Blige, Peter Frampton, and Ozzy Osbourne were announced as the performers being inducted.

Jimmy Buffett is set to be recognized for his musical excellence. Other inductees include Dionne Warwick, Norman Whitfield, Alexis Korner, John Mayall, MC5, Suzanne de Passe, and Big Mama Thornton.

RELATED: ‘American Idol’ Sets Mandisa Tribute Following Death Of Season 5 Contestant

Nominees for the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame 2024 included Cher, Mary J. Blige, Mariah Carey, Dave Matthews Band, Eric B. & Rakim, Foreigner, Peter Frampton, Jane’s Addiction, Kool & the Gang, Lenny Kravitz, Oasis, Sinead O’Connor, Ozzy Osbourne, Sade and A Tribe Called Quest.

The 2023 inductees included Kate Bush, Sheryl Crow, Missy Elliot, George Michael, Willie Nelson, Rage Against the Machine (Tim Commerford, Zack de la Rocha, Tom Morello, and Brad Wilk), and The Spinners (John Edwards, Henry Fambrough, Billy Henderson, Pervis Jackson, Bobby Smith, and Philippé Wynne).

Richie was inducted into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame in 2022 alongside Pat Benatar (and Neil Giraldo), Duran Duran (Warren Cuccurullo, Simon Le Bon, Nick Rhodes, Andy Taylor, John Taylor, and Roger Taylor), Eminem, Eurythmics (Annie Lennox and Dave Stewart), Carly Simon and Dolly Parton.

The Rock and Roll Hall of Fame, established in 1983, is located in Cleveland, Ohio. Artists become eligible for induction 25 years after the release of their first record. A committee nominates an artist, and “rock experts” evaluate the nominees and vote on the candidates who are inducted.

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *