Taylor Swift eagerly awaited new LP ‘The Tortured Poets Department’ dropped in the early hours of Friday with a surprise double album format and 15 additional songs.

“It’s a 2am surprise: The Tortured Poets Department is a secret DOUBLE album,” Swift wrote in an early morning Instagram post.

 “I’d written so much tortured poetry in the past 2 years and wanted to share it all with you, so here’s the second instalment of TTPD: The Anthology. 15 extra songs. And now the story isn’t mine anymore… it’s all yours.” 

The launch was greeted with feverish speculation over who was the target of embittered lyrics in a clutch of songs about failed relationships, particularly in two tracks entitled, The Smallest Man Who Ever Lived and Guilty as Sin?.

The performer did not give names but Taylor Swift pundits were quick to suggest she was alluding to 1975 frontman Matty Healy, who she dated briefly in 2023.

Other media outlets suggested long-time boyfriend Joe Alwyn was the subject of her wrath.

Another track The Alchemy, featuring American football references, appears to have been inspired by her hew relationship with the Kansas City Chiefs American Travis Kelce.

The Tortured Poets Department is Swift’s 11th studio album and comes on hot on the heels of the star’s blockbuster Eras Tour, which became the first ever tour to surpass $1B in revenue.

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *